Caribbean Turkey Burgers with Mango


I was initially attracted to this recipe because I LOVE (and I mean LOVE!) Mangoes! I even dedicated an entire post to mango-cutting. But, this was honestly one of the best burgers I’ve EVER had. It definitely exceeded my expectations and I’d make these even when Mangoes are not in season. The hubby and the babe agreed that these should be a staple in our household :). Ok, I know she’s only 10 months old but, trust me, clearing her plate=agreeing.

But, before I get to the recipe, I have to share some pictures from our wonderful Memorial Day weekend spent visiting my parents. My little girl is growing up so fast, it’s crazy! Not pictured: lots of relaxing, swimming and delicious Margaritas made by my brother–recipe and margs to come! Also not pictured: REALLY humid and hot 10 mile run with one of my awesome Momma-friends who happened to be on vacation in the same city as us. So thankful for my big group of traveling running-buddies! I’ve had friends from my running group travel as far as San Francisco the same weekend I was there (not purposefully but let’s just say massive running groups have their advantages that go above and beyond great community and accountability!).

Now, here’s the cutie pie!

Ellie Grace with her Great Grandma, Mimi! So happy (and in her P.J.’s…maybe that’s why she’s happy!? They are comfy!!!).

With one set of Grandparents!

And, when she got home, she was dying to get to work :).

Alright, how bout those burgers…

Ingredients

  • 1/2 C bread crumbs (I homemade mine using a food processor)
  • 3 Tbsp green onions, chopped
  • 3 Tbsp fresh parsley, minced
  • 2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tbsp Caribbean jerk seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 lbs lean ground turkey
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 4 hamburger buns or sandwich ‘thins’
  • 1 C spinach
  • 1 mango, peeled and sliced
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced

Directions: In a large bowl, combine bread crumbs, green onions, parsley, Worcestershire sauce, jerk seasoning and salt. Crumble turkey into the bowl and mix just until combined. Shape into four patties. In a large skillet, cook patties in oil over medium heat until cooked all the way through–about 5 minutes on each side. Serve on buns with spinach, mango slices and bell pepper slices.

Source: Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Leave a Reply

