Salmon in Lemon Brodetto with Pea Puree


I’m a little hesitant to admit how I decided on this salmon recipe for dinner last week. Here goes nothing…

So, if you know me or my family (which, you most likely do if you’re reading my blog), you probably know how I feel about wasting food and/or not saving and eating leftovers. We are the people who take 1 piece of sushi to go. Of course we throw in the 3 pieces of edamame as well to make for a perfect little snack the next day.

Anyway, I thought my take on leftovers was becoming more normal but then there was so much of this leftover pea puree in my freezer. See, I made Ellie Grace some baby food but she hated peas! HATED. So, I had just the right amount of pea puree for the lovely Giada de Laurentiis’ salmon recipe. It was that or the trash for those peas.

So, I opted for this recipe and it was quite possibly the best decision I made last week. I know I recently posted about Honey Mustard Salmon but this was a COMPLETELY different kind of party for your taste buds. It. Was. Amazing!

By the way, ‘brodetto’ is a fancy word for fish soup. This is more like salmon on top of broth but we used spoons and definitely had every last bite/sip left in our bowls. 🙂

I followed Giada’s recipe exactly so I can’t take any credit for this one but I will tell you that you won’t be disappointed if you make it!

Ingredients

Lemon Brodetto:

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • juice from 2 lemons
  • zest from one lemon
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 Tbsp mint leaves, chopped

Pea Puree:

  • 2 cups frozen peas, thawed
  • 1/4 cup mint leaves
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan

Salmon:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 4 (4 to 6-ounce) pieces salmon
  • Salt and pepper

Directions

For lemon brodetto, warm olive oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Add shallots and saute until tender. Then, add  lemon juice, zest, and broth. Bring to a simmer and cover.

For pea puree, combine the peas, mint, garlic, salt, and pepper in a food processor and puree. Drizzle in olive oil with machine running. Transfer

For salmon, warm the olive oil in a large skillet over high heat. Wash, dry and season the salmon fillets with salt and pepper. Sear the salmon until flakes easily– about 5 minutes on the first side and a few more minutes after flipping it.

To assemble the dish, divide the lemon brodetto between 4 shallow dishes and add some mint to each bowl. Place a large spoonful of pea puree in the center of each dish. Then, top with salmon and a mint leaf and serve.

Source: Food Network–Giada de Laurentiis

Leave a Reply

