Cilantro Lime Quinoa


After making those Plant-chiladas last week, I had tons of cilantro left over. So, since Trey raves about cilantro lime rice EVERY time he eats it, I figured I wouldn’t compete with Whole Foods (or Chipotle is the other place I think he gets it?) and go for the quinoa version instead. I got the recipe from one of my favorite food blogs and made this during finals week for a fresh, healthy but very easy side dish. I had it with black beans for lunch one day and with chicken and veggies for dinner.

Ingredients:

–2 cups chicken (or vegetable) broth

–1 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained
–2 cloves garlic, minced
— fresh lime juice from 1.5 large limes
–1/3 cup chopped cilantro
–1/4 tsp granulated sugar
–salt and pepper, to taste

Directions: In a large pot, bring the 2 cups of vegetable broth to a boil. Stir in quinoa and cook until quinoa is tender and broth has evaporated, about 20 minutes. Fluff quinoa with a fork, stir in remaining ingredients and enjoy.

Source: Two Peas and Their Pod

One thought on “Cilantro Lime Quinoa

  1. I saw the cilantro and lime and knew I had to check out the recipe – it sounds great!

Leave a Reply

