Baby Food–Sweet Potatoes and Acorn Squash


Someone got to try ‘real’ food.

And liked it!

Ladies and Gentlemen, I think we have a little healthy foodie on our hands.

I don’t think I have too many new mom readers but, if you’re still reading at this point, I guess you’re interested in how I recently made baby food. Or you just think my daughter is cute. I’ll take that ;).

Let me start by saying that I’ve been eating baby food for the past couple of days. Yep, that’s right. I’ve been sneaking bites of Ellie Grace’s acorn squash–just baby bites, I promise. You see, I bought an acorn squash thinking I’d split it with her but then decided to go ahead and freeze leftovers instead. So, I guess I’m just splitting it with her as she goes through it. Ha!

Last spring, I was in a nutrition lab where we had to taste baby food and I was mortified by the thought of that. Now, I’m eating it voluntarily!? What’s going on? Fresh tastes SO much better than the canned food we were forced to eat…I’ll stand by that!

Pictures first!

Now for the easiest recipes ever!

Sweet Potatoes:

–1 large sweet potato

–water (I didn’t measure the amount…sorry!)

Directions: Bake sweet potato at 400 degrees F for about an hour and ten minutes or until tender. Peel the potato and cut into about 10 pieces. Blend in food processor with water until smooth. For thicker potatoes, use less water.

Acorn Squash:

–1 acorn squash

–water (again, didn’t measure)

Directions: Cut squash in half, scoop out seeds and lay halves on baking sheet with the skin facing out. Bake at 400 degrees F for about 30 minutes or until tender. Scrape squash off of skin with a spoon and blend in food processor with desired amount of water.

I froze leftovers in ice trays. I filled an entire ice tray full of each. Easy Breezy, Mamas! Lemme know if you try it!

4 thoughts on “Baby Food–Sweet Potatoes and Acorn Squash

  1. Lauren says:

    I loved making baby food! Especially when you get to the combos. One time Cody and I ate some of kyler’s broccoli/cauliflower/cheese purée with dinner 🙂

  2. Dana S. says:

    Glad you jumped in and are loving it. It is so much fun making baby food and definitely DEFINITELY tastes better than the jarred stuff! I am for sure guilty of eating my girls’ baby food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

