Maple Vinegarette Sweet Potatoes and Special Guest–SANTA!


Here comes Santa Claus, Here comes Santa Claus…

Yes, people, this happened last night. Look really closely. That.is.Trey! Hahaha! I realize this might not be as hilarious to others but I was laughing ALL night. This was our first year to join in on the block party festivities but according to the neighbors, Trey was the best Santa yet! The kids loved him and told him all kinds of stories about vampires and dragons and doll houses galore.

Unfortunately in the midst of all the chaos last night, I switched cameras with our neighbor so all the pictures I took of Trey and Ellie Grace are on another camera but I will post those as soon as I get my hands on them.

Here are a few more pictures of all the fun! Then, onto the yummy food!

Express train, duh!

Couldn’t resist posting a picture of this cutie!

Now for those tasty sweet potatoes!

Wow! These are A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! I got this recipe from one of my favorite food blogs, Confections of a Foodie Bride. These are supposed to be grilled but since it had been raining for a week straight when I was wanting to make them, I went for the oven instead. They were awesome anyway. I also used less olive oil than the original recipe called for but pretty much everything else is the same.

Oh, ummm, everything except that cilantro on top! Yea, so, I thought I had parsley at home and found out I didn’t when I was throwing this together for a late dinner. I used cilantro to make it look prettier but please, if you make this, go for parsley! Your tastebuds will thank you ;).

Ingredients:

–2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced

–2 Tbsp olive oil

–Salt and Pepper

FOR VINEGARETTE:

–1 clove garlic, minced

–2 Tbsp spicy brown mustard

–1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

–dash of cinnamon

–2 Tbsp maple syrup

–2 Tbsp olive oil

–handful of fresh PARSLEY, chopped

Directions: Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Place sweet potato slices in a glass baking dish and drizzle with olive oil. Roll potatoes around in olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Cook until tender. Mix garlic, mustard, vinegar, cinnamon, maple syrup and olive oil. Drizzle vinegarette over sweet potatoes, adding salt and pepper to taste. Top with chopped parsley and enjoy!

Source: Confections of a Foodie Bride

Leave a Reply

