Quinoa with Sweet Potatoes and Broccoli


This recipe was a result of trying to use up all the veggies and ingredients I had around the house before they went bad. I refuse to waste ANY food! And, honestly, my firm stance on not wasting anything has helped me come up with some pretty tasty dishes I wouldn’t have discovered otherwise. Let me rephrase, I WILL throw out old food but I do my best to not let food go bad before consuming it!

I made sure to include all the food groups in this dish so we had this as the main course/sides/etc. This was all we ate at dinner so our portions were huge. And we still had tons left over (I’m sure you’ve noticed I’m a fan of leftovers too!).

But, you could serve this as a side with chicken or another protein–especially if you wanted to change things up and not include beans, feta and/or walnuts. The quinoa/veggie combo would be a perfect side!

Chopping, chopping, chopping!

More chopping.

Mixing, cooking.

Almost ready!

Ingredients:

–1.5 cups dry quinoa
–3 cups water
–1 veg bouillon cube

–1 large sweet potato, peeled and  chopped

–Broccoli–2 heads, chopped
–Black beans–1 can, drained
–1 red bell pepper, chopped
–1 onion, chopped
–3 cloves garlic, minced

–3 oz. feta cheese crumbles

–1 cup chopped walnuts
–2 tsp oregano
–1 tsp thyme
–Salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Mix quinoa, water and bouillon cube in one pot. Bring to a boil and then simmer until water is absorbed. Boil sweet potatoes in water until tender– about 15 minutes. Heat olive oil and garlic in a skillet. Once hot, add broccoli, onion and bell pepper. Cook until tender, stirring occasionally. Add black beans and sweet potatoe to veggie mixture and stir. Combine veggie mixture with quinoa and add oregano, thyme, feta, walnuts, salt and pepper. Stir evenly and enjoy.

In other news, this guy is going to be Santa at our neighborhood block party tonight (yep, that’s my hubby!).

Plenty of Santa pictures to come. I. CAN’T. WAIT! I’ve been feeding him so well, the neighbors asked him to be the plump, jolly old fellow (yea, I can say that since he’s obv. not too plump)!

2 thoughts on “Quinoa with Sweet Potatoes and Broccoli

  1. Eggton says:

    Hi! Stumbled here from the dashboard and I love your header. I miss blueberries. Have so much fun at that block party!

Leave a Reply

