White Bean and Chicken Chili


I’m finally not [completely] relying on soft foods to survive anymore. Which made me think of this delicious white bean and chicken chili! I got this recipe from my friend, Kristen and it is GOOD. REALLY GOOD! Per usual, I changed a few things due to lack of ingredients and my desire to put my own ‘spin’ on things (although I did not change much this time because I knew how good this chili was to begin with!). 🙂

This is easy to make, healthy and goes a long way. I’d say we got about 10 servings (generously).

Here are [some of] the ingredients.

(Thanks to my sweet hubby for making this look all organized–and especially for helping me make this meal!)

 –2.5 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast

–3 cans white northern beans (undrained)

–1 Tbsp Olive Oil

–4 Garlic Cloves, minced

–1.5 Medium Onions, chopped

–2 tsp Ground Cumin

–1/4 tsp Ground Cloves

–1/4 tsp Chili Powder

–1 tsp Oregano

–8oz Diced Green Chilis (two 4oz cans)

–14oz grated Cheddar Jack Cheese

–3 cups water

–1 chicken bouillon cube

And, here’s part of the cooking process.

Directions: Place chicken in large pot and add water to cover. Add bouillon cube after a few minutes. Cook chicken until tender and dice into bite size pieces. Reserve liquid from cooking chicken and strain. Heat oil and add onions. Cook until translucent. Stir in garlic, chilis, cumin, chili powder, oregano and cloves; sauté for 3 minutes. Add chicken, beans (undrained), reserved cooking liquid, water and 8 ounces of the cheese; let simmer for at least 15 minutes. Ladle into bowls and top with grated cheese.

We had our chili with cornbread, of course! We also had plenty left over!


Leave a Reply

