Potato Broccoli Rabe Soup


My mom made me this delicious soup yesterday!

I know, it looks like a green smoothie in a bowl but I promise, it’s yummy potato broccoli rabe soup. I am supposed to eat cold, soft foods for a couple days [I just got my wisdom teeth extracted]  so I ate this at room temp but, heated up with cheese, this would be very tasty! Being the obsessive ‘make-sure-I-get-all-my-veggies-a-day’ person that I am, this soup was a perfect complement to pudding, chocolate milk, yogurt and every other non-green food I can eat right now ;).

So, if you get some teeth pulled, have your heart broken, or just want some [healthy] comfort on a cold day, give this recipe a try!

Recipe: (4 servings) — Warning: These are ‘guesstimates’ because nothing was measured–So, you’ll have to make everything ‘to taste’!

–1/2 chicken bouillon cube

–water (enough to cover boiling potatoes plus 1/2 cup extra)

–2 large potatoes

–1 garlic clove, minced

–2 green onions (used the white part at the root), chopped

–1 bunch broccoli rabe, rinsed and steamed

–salt and pepper to taste

Directions: In a large pot, cover potatoes with water and boil until tender. In a separate pot, steam the broccoli rabe until tender. Once potatoes are ready, add about 1/2 cup more water, bouillon cube, garlic and onions and let simmer for about 10 minutes. Blend all ingredients, adding salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy at room temperature or heat and add cheese! Delish!

Just a few Health Benefits of Broccoli Rabe: It is full of vitamins A, C and K. It also provides some iron and calcium and has cancer-fighting properties. Mmmm…I feel healthier just writing about it!

Leave a Reply

