Avocado Cheese Melts


Since we try to stick to a pretty tight monthly budget, often at the end of the month, we wear ourselves out on sandwiches, eggs, beans, rice and anything else that is fairly cheap to eat. I know, I know, avocados are expensive but they are calorie dense so one can go a long way when it comes to filling you up. And, they are full of nutrients. Plus, when combined with all the ingredients to make an avocado cheese melt, this actually makes for a reasonably priced dinner. We don’t eat these as often as sandwiches and eggs so they really seem like a treat when we make them. And, they add good variety! 😉

I made these last week when ‘nothing sounded good’ to eat (from the options we had to choose from at home). I usually like eating one cheese melt with a big side salad. Trey generally eats 3 (well, there goes our budget!)! 🙂

Here are (most of) the ingredients:

Recipe for 4 servings:

–1 large or 2 small avocados, sliced

–2 tomatoes, sliced

–4 slices of cheese (we use cheddar and provolone)

–4 slices of bread (we like using potato bread)

–2Tbsp olive oil (optional–we sometimes use butter instead)

–a few pinches of garlic powder (if desired)

–salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spread olive oil or butter on bread (if desired) and sprinkle with garlic powder (also optional!). Cover bread with one layer of tomato slices. Then, layer with avocado. Top with cheese and toast in oven for about 5 minutes. Remove from oven and add salt and pepper.

With the olive oil (or butter), avocado and cheese, these are fairly high in calories and fat but, when served with a light salad, full of tasty veggies, you can get a perfectly balanced meal! Trey doubted that these would be all that good. After reluctantly trying them once, he now asks if I can make this meal all the time! Try them. You won’t be disappointed!

Also, side note–I wanted to let all of you kind people who have been reading my blog know that I am getting my wisdom teeth pulled today at 9am. In order to avoid a public ‘David after the Dentist‘ experience (I know, that’s so two years ago!), I am going to do my best to keep myself away from the blog for a couple days. Then, maybe I’ll post about all the soft foods I get to experience throughout the week. Or, I’ll probably just let y’all know about random good foods I’ve made in the past! Thanks for reading and have a great week!

Leave a Reply

