Kale Butter


Yea, I went there!

I heard about people making kale butter about a year ago and have been dying to try it ever since (I think I’m meant to be a dietitian!). I finally made it and love it! And, it’s SO easy to make.

Recipe:

–bunch of kale, washed and chopped

–1 cup water

–1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

Directions: Steam the kale, using about 1 cup of water, until it’s tender (took about 8 minutes for me). Blend the kale, 1/2 cup of the water used for steaming and 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts in a blender until smooth and enjoy!

I have been spreading this on toasted bread. Let me know if you have other suggestions for how to use it/what foods to try it on!

Just a Few Health Benefits of Kale: Kale has antioxidant, anti-inflammatory and anti-cancer nutrients!

8 thoughts on “Kale Butter

  1. Amanda says:

    Margaret, remember that food pyramid project we did together? Of course you were meant to be a dietician… πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to try this myself. I’m not a huge fan of the texture of Kale so this might be the trick for me!

  2. Sarah says:

    AND, it’s at the top of Whole Foods’ Andes scale as the most nutritious food they have, right?

  3. Kathy says:

    Wow, what an interesting idea.. and so healthy too! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Ali Winters says:

    Yum! That sounds so good! I am going to have to try it.

Leave a Reply

