Omelet Muffins


And this is how I used our left over taco meat!

When I met Trey, he wasn’t a breakfast eater. I’m proud to say that I’ve converted him! Initially, there was one goal–Eat Breakfast. I [acted like I] didn’t care what he ate, as long as he got in the habit of eating the most important meal of the day.

Then, after many months of letting him take Poptarts (sigh) to work with him almost every day, I decided it was time to slowly introduce healthy foods. For those wondering, Trey is my husband, not my 4 year old child. Oh [some of] the challenges we face in marriage. Ha!

We started out with muffins and bagels (which will definitely stay in the rotation). When these made the cut, I was ready to bring on more nutrients! And, by the way, there is one caveat…he wants to eat breakfast on the WAY to work.

For health purposes and variety, I came up with these delicious omelet muffins.

Here are the ingredients I mixed with eggs:

Recipe:

–5 eggs

–5 egg whites

–1/2 cup left over taco meat (ground turkey made for turkey tacos the night before)

–1/2 cup chopped mushrooms

–1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

–1/2 cup spinach

–1/4 cup 1% milk

–1 Tbsp mayonnaise

–pinch of salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl. Line muffin pan and spoon mix into muffin holders.  Bake at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes or until a knife cuts through them and comes out clean.

If the meat wasn’t so flavorful already, I would have added more spices to these omelet muffins. So, if you make these without using leftover spicy taco meat, try adding some of your favorite spices.

We refrigerated most of these for eating on the run throughout the week. If you do the same, make sure to heat these babies up before eating them. I enjoyed two this morning with cheese, salsa and a piece of toast!

Finally, just for fun…

A Few Health Benefits of Bell Peppers:

–They contain lots of phytochemicals that have excellent antioxidant activity

–They are full of vitamin C which helps your immune system

–They contain folic acid which has numerous health benefits such as potential to prevent osteoporosis and some cancers as well as protect you from heart disease

–They have beta carotene which your body can convert to vitamin A and help you with vision. Beta carotene also has antioxidant properties and supports immune health.

4 thoughts on “Omelet Muffins

  1. Molly Gent says:

    This is great! I’m always needing new breakfast ideas for Tom and Finn!!

  2. lindyfowler says:

    Margaret, you’re an inspiration! Love your posts. Trying to these today. I started a boot camp that begins at 5:30, and I think these will be good to eat on the way. 🙂 Thanks for your tips. Hope you and your sweet family are doing well.

    • Thanks Lindy! I hope you like them! That’s awesome that you’re doing a boot camp–and so early. I want to hear more about that when you finish. Hope you are doing well and hopefully I can see you soon and we can talk all things nutrition and fitness ;).

Leave a Reply

