Trey’s Favorite–Turkey Tacos


I wasn’t planning on writing about turkey tacos when I made them over the weekend but when Trey said, ‘babe! this is my favorite thing you’ve made in a while!’ (after eating 3 HUGE tacos), I figured we better share the recipe. I didn’t do anything crazy with these tacos but, they really were SO good!

Yes, those are multi-grain tortillas. I can’t help it :)!

For the meat, I cooked 16 ounces of lean ground turkey with a small can of Rotel Diced Tomatoes and Green Chilies and about a tablespoon of olive oil. When the meat was done cooking, I added about 1/2 a pack of taco seasoning to it.

The meat was very tasty but the best part was all these toppings!

That sour cream-looking topping is actually Greek yogurt! It was a perfect, healthy alternative. We decided against cheese this time and we were happy with that choice but you can’t go wrong with cheese when it comes to Mexican food so we may include it in the mix next time! Avocados are always a treat so I’m pretty sure I have them to thank for getting this recipe to the top of Trey’s favorites list ;).

On that note, here are…

Just a Few Health Benefits of Avocados:

–They are loaded with monounsaturated fat (‘good’ fat) which helps lower blood cholesterol levels

–They’re full of vitamin E, an antioxidant that helps protect healthy cells

–They are a source of potassium which helps regulate blood pressure

–They provide soluble fiber which helps stabilize blood sugar levels.

I also found a great way to use our leftover meat! Check back tomorrow for that recipe!

Leave a Reply

