Date Night! {OJ Chicken, Butternut Squash and Salad}


Tuesday nights are dedicated to ‘date night’ in our household. If you are married and don’t have date nights, I highly recommend it! It’s crazy…spending intentional, meaningful time with that adorable person you used to be so giddy over.

Date nights used to have no boundaries for us–we’d go to dinner, grab a drink, maybe even see a movie if we wanted to get really crazy. Now, it is pretty much guaranteed that we will stay in on Tuesday nights. We have a kid, people! And, a pretty tight budget. The funny thing is, we LOVE our new date nights. Yes, your preferences and priorities actually DO change when you have a baby.

I had so much fun throwing this meal together last night!

On the Menu: Chicken, Butternut Squash and Salad

FYI, chicken and butternut squash are great oven buddies because they like to be baked at about the same temp (350ish degrees F)! Make sure to put the butternut squash in first since it takes longer to cook (usually 35-60 minutes, depending on it’s size)

Chicken: I made orange juice chicken with sage, rosemary, salt and pepper. We cooked the chicken for 30 minutes.

Butternut Squash: We had a small butternut squash so it was ready in 35 minutes. I cut it in half and put the halves face down on the baking sheet. When it was ready, I scooped the seeds out with a spoon and threw them away. Then, I scooped out the rest to eat. I added butter and brown sugar last night but I also like to eat it plain with salt and pepper!

Salad Recipe: Spinach, a handful of cherry tomatoes, about 10 cucumber slices, 1/2 an avocado, 1/2 a mango, juice from 1/2 a grapefruit squeezed directly on top, a few splashes of red wine vinegar and olive oil, salt and pepper.

Mmmm! I must say, I was pretty proud of this dinner. Everything tasted delicious!

Just a Few Health Benefits of Butternut Squash: vitamin A, vitamin C, potassium, magnesium and much more!

3 thoughts on “Date Night! {OJ Chicken, Butternut Squash and Salad}

  1. Therese Kerfoot says:

    I tried the squash recipe last night. So easy and delish! I’m surprised I hadn’t already tried it. Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. […] made some delicious pork loin with kale salad and this butternut squash for dinner last night. I’ll post about the kale salad in the near […]

Leave a Reply

