Steel Cut Oats


I think it’s safe to say that breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I also believe that it is the most important meal—it gets your metabolism going and helps prepare you mentally and physically for the day ahead.

I made these oats last night so I could have less prep time this morning!

Old-fashioned oatmeal is tasty and is so good for you! It contains soluble fiber, which slows the movement of food through your body, helping you release and absorb sugars more slowly. It lowers your total and LDL (bad) cholesterol and is especially good for people with diabetes because oats help regulate blood sugar.

This morning I also added the below ingredients to my oatmeal.

I love adding to my oatmeal for flavor but there are many health benefits too! I’ll just name a few. Bananas provide potassium, peanut butter contains monounsaturated (healthy) fats and protein, almond milk provides a sweet flavor but also usually provides calcium, cinnamon is probably my favorite spice but has also been shown to have anti-inflammatory properties, and syrup…well, syrup is flat out not healthy but just tastes good and it’s healthy to have sugar just to have it every once in a while, right!?

3 thoughts on “Steel Cut Oats

  1. Jessica says:

    We love our oatmeal with a Tablespoon of coconut oil…a good fat your body needs and I think it sweetens it a bit. My kids love it!

  2. Jessica says:

    Oh, I forgot to mention that you can also make oatmeal in the crockpot and then all you have to do is add the fixins’ when you get up….for those without crockpot timers I use a light switch timer so that the crockpot comes on at a certain time and shuts off at another.

Leave a Reply

